FEARΒ 

Fear is one messed up thing! It has a way of crippling you for life. Not just physically, but the kind of crippling that renders your mind, heart and imagination totally useless. 
Someone once asked me what my greatest fear is…… You should have been inside my head to see my wheel of thoughts spinning out of control! So many fears! 

– The fear of being laughed at 

– The fear of being rejected 

– The fear of not being able to make it in life 

– The fear of being average 

– The fear of getting a B (yes I said it – it really scares the hell out of me )

– The fear of change 

– The fear of not being able to use a particular picture as my dp because of my family members on whatsapp 

– The fear of not doing something because of what others might say or think 

– The fear of getting my heart broken …..

See, the list is endless! It took me so long to figure out that all these could be summarized into a single word – FEAR. For most of us (myself inclusive), our greatest fear is fear itself! 

I went to church one time and the homily given by the priest was centered on FEAR. He made mention of the fact that the devil rules with fear. So whenever we are afraid of something or someone, just know that it is the devil trying to get to you through fear. And trust me, ever since I understood that.. I’ve been able to step out of my comfort zone to do the things I’ve been afraid to do for so long. Fear never really goes away, it simply loses its power over us the moment we start to realize that the power of God that we have in us is by far greater than the weapon of fear the devil uses to try and paralyze us. 
The one time in my life that I felt AFRAID so much that I could almost taste it was when my dad passed away. No one ever told me that grief felt so much like fear. You know, there are some deaths that are inevitable. Those situations where the person is extremely sick or they have to go through a life threatening surgery.. you get the picture. But then there are those other situations where you just don’t see it coming! – a car accident, sudden illness .. You’re just there and in the twinkle of an eye.. He’s gone. That first night without him being there, was the loneliest night of my life. Because everything at home literally revolved around him. So I’m crying but my tears are being fueled by FEAR – the fear of change. What will happen now that he’s gone? Will things ever go back to the way they were? What do I do with my life now? – so many questions, all because I was afraid! It didn’t even occur to me then that it is the Lord that takes care of His own. Fast forward to two years later, are we not still alive and well?!
Do you have any idea of the number of things each of us could have achieved by now if not for the fact that we have chosen to entertain fear in our lives??? All those opportunities we let go because we were too afraid it wouldn’t work? See, the only thing that makes a dream impossible to achieve is the fear of failure! There’s nothing like finally reaching perfection because the only thing perfect in this world is God. So to be perfect means to be God. Does that even sound possible to you? Why then do we kill ourselves to finally reach perfection? The goal is not be perfect but to try as hard as we can to draw nearer to that milestone of perfection. In other words, as humans, we should not focus on being God but rather we should focus our energy on trying to be like God. And to me, that is what the whole concept of perfection is all about. 
So do not be afraid of your fears. They are not there to scare you. They are there to let you know that something is worth it. Think about this. Why would the devil go through so much trouble just to put fear in you when you are about to take that leap of faith? He knows the good that will come out of it and so he will try his possible best to stop you from getting there. So whenever you’re afraid, remember that it is the devil’s way of messing with your mind. And if you have that in mind, you’ll never entertain FEAR in your life again. 
So whatever plans you have lined up for 2017, just drop that fear and go do it! Make it happen. If you’re like me and the year started on a bad note for you, that is no reason to give up now. Only one month out of the twelve didn’t go well? The hell with it! You should be thankful it isn’t the entire year! I feel like 2017 is my year and I’m not going to waste it like the years before. So if you have plans of using your talent to make money, just go for it! That business you’ve always wanted to start, well now seems like the right time. That haircut you didn’t have vim to try, it might actually look pretty good on you. That guy whose been bugging you for years, give him a chance and you’d be surprised how he’d end up being the best boyfriend you’ve ever had! (Story of my lifeπŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆ). It doesn’t even matter if you fail at a point.. You just need to get over it and get on with it again. IT IS ONLY AFTER YOU HAVE OVERCOME YOUR FEARS THAT YOU WILL TRULY BE FREE 🌾.
Let me leave you with this quote 
“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?’ Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

Marianne Williamson, A Return to Love: Reflections on the Principles of “A Course in Miracles”

24 thoughts on “FEARΒ 

Leave a Reply

